Feening for Fast Food – How to Break Up With the Drive-Thru

Feening for Fast Food The Tricks on how to Break Up with the Drive-Thru

We have been called a fast food nation for some time now. And we totally are. There is no denying it. Back in high school when I drove to school I easily passed 3 McDonalds. Three! Why so many? It’s a constant temptation. Just when you get over the first french fry hunger wave, you see the classic yellow arches peeking up over the horizon. Again.

English: A Burger King bacon cheeseburger.

A Burger King bacon cheeseburger. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To be fair, I am not just knocking McDonalds. I’m knocking them all. Mc’D’s is always the first to come to mind and seems to always be the first one to get picked on by the public. Your fast food cravings may be in the form of a Starbucks Mocha-Boca-Jamoca-Cocoa Frappe’, a cheese-in-the-crust Pizza Hut ‘Za,  a Taco Bell quesadilla with a pool of sour cream, or a cream filled custard donut from Dunkin’Donuts. God help you if you’re addicted to the “Double Down Sandwich” that KFC was promoting with 2 chicken breasts acting as an acceptable bun. Yikes.

Check out these examples: Bring a bucket to yak in though, it’s pretty disgusting.

http://articles.nydailynews.com/2010-04-08/entertainment/27061074_1_slippery-slope-meat-bread

http://lifeinc.today.com/_news/2011/04/11/6452818-meat-monster-hits-tokyo-is-america-next?lite

Fast food is everywhere and you can’t hide from it. Unless you live in an igloo. I do not live in an igloo, and I assume you don’t either. In my “past-life” (once upon a time when I was peaking towards 200 lbs.) I worked a typical 9-5 office job. I started my morning by rolling through a drive-thru for a 700 calorie breakfast sandwich meal and anxiously waited at my desk for the on average 1,400 calorie carb-loaded lunch at a restaurant chain. Snack time in the Summer easily became ice cream around 2pm and in the Fall I would cave and just purchase a candy out of the office snack box. It wasn’t even dinner time yet and already I had jammed my body with an obscene amount of sugar, sodium, fat, and other weird things that were chemically made in a lab somewhere like preservatives, hormones and kooky juices that made you see elephants or something.

Quick fixes people. Quick fixes. The mass production of all of these fast food items were chocked full of odd fillers and frankly it was killing me and totally wrecking my life. I wasn’t happy, my energy was obsolete and my self-confidence was zilch. I could never have enough, and oddly, I was always hungry and never seemed to be satisfied. I was totally addicted to fast food. When I turned my foodie life around, I knew that soda-consumption and fast food were at the top of my “WHAT TO CHANGE” list. I could no longer make these kind of freakish food choices and get the healthy and happy results I wanted. I don’t even know if half the things I was eating even constituted as food anymore.

Change was not happening easily unless there was plan of attack. What I came to find was that I had to ask myself a few more questions. I know only crazy people talk to themselves but this was important! Hop on the crazy train to see what I mean…

STEP 1 – Cravings kick in. (Thought Process: “Crap. Now what? Of course 2 seconds after I decide that I need to begin to eat more like a rabbit I get a mega craving for a quesadilla.”)

STEP 2 – Start talking to yourself. (Thought Process: Asks Self- “OK, driving to Taco Bell is not an option, we said we were done eating this junk. WHAT exactly are you craving soooo bad about a quesadilla that makes you have gobble one up right now?”) Identifying the specific thing that you are craving about a fast food choice is the only way to kick that craving to the curb. In this instance, let’s say it’s the Taco Bell hot sauce. Which if any one of you know me, this is a bit of a kryptonite for me. I can drizzle that stuff on anything! Good news- it has virtually zero calories. Bad news- lots of sodium. But at least it’s not a whole quesadilla. Gotta weigh the good & the bad.

STEP 3 – See what you have to work with. Do an inventory and see what you can cook on your own that will suppress hunger and be a happier and healthier choice. In order for this to work you need to trick your taste buds into thinking that you got that taco bell (or any other fast food) “fix.”  My inventory luckily included a few extra taco bell sauce packets from the last trip so that was connection to the craving and knew immediately that I needed to include that into my dish. That hot sauce became my “craving connector.”

STEP 4– Create a healthy alternative using the “craving connector.” In my scenario here I was craving mexican food. An alternative I have done before is simply dicing and sautéing chicken breast and placing it in a corn tortilla. I ensure that I always top it off with some of that sauce so I don’t cheat myself of what I wanted in the first place. You pick what sounds best to you! Just keep it healthy! You don’t want to forget the point here.

To this day I still hang onto extra sauces just in case I have a craving. Few and far between but it happens. It beats out the old me any day of the week. I have old fat-girl jeans to prove it…and they drop to the floor!

Ideas to get you started:

    Craving: Mc’D Chicken Nuggets with Sweet-n-Sour Sauce

Alternative: Dip Carrot Sticks or Chicken Breast Strips in Sweet-n-Sour Sauce

Craving: Wendy’s Bacon Cheeseburger

Alternative: Bacon Wrapped Asparagus or Various Bacon wrapped veggies “Kabob Style”

Craving: Dominos Pizza

Alternative: Low-Cal Pita Pizza & Bread Sticks (See recipe featured here!)https://eatlikearabbitrecipes.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/game-day-pita-pizza-breadsticks/

Craving: Fazoli’s Pasta/Italian

Alternative: Spaghetti Squash with Marinara Sauce or Veggie Medley Stir-Fry with Marinara

Craving: Subway Sub

Alternative: Make your own at home – just pick your fave toppings, use less condiments and choose a low-carb bread.

Craving: PF Changs/Asian Cuisine

Alternative: Asian inspired Chicken or Veggie/Bean Lettuce Wraps

Craving: BK Hershey Chocolate Pie

Alternative: Chocolate Yogurt Topped with Lite Whipped Cream

Leave that Drive-Thru in the Dust & Never Look Back! It wasn’t good enough for you anyways!

-Chef Mallory

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Feening for Fast Food – How to Break Up With the Drive-Thru

  1. Wonderful website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same
    topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get comments from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

    • Good for you! I have found that my best cheerleaders are those that are online that I honestly have never met face to face.

      I have had great success with an app on my cell phone called “Fitocracy.” It features a way to track your physical progress and offers a plethora of groups and feeds that are littered with people trying to keep in touch with other like-minded followers. There are groups that focus on various activities such as dog walking or cycling, new recipes & healthy eating, and my personal favorite is the group called a “confession booth” which offers you a chance to purge your dietary “sins.” If you have an iPhone this would be a great place to start.

      I also have been subscribing to a newsletter from Calorie Count.

      This website is also an app that you can add to your Droid of iPhone and aids in tracking food and exercises. I receive a newsletter in my email every so often that provides stories, recipes, ideas and tips on how to stay on track. Within making a free profile with Calorie Count, you are able to comment and interact with others by placing comments or questions at the end of any article.

      I use Instagram as well and within this tool, I have found many sources of healthy eating groups. One that instantly comes to mind is “I put the fork down.”

      Pretty self-explanatory. It’s a great motivator – you literally have to see it to believe it!

      Honestly, pin point exactly what you are looking to focus on and what groups you find will work best for you. Google, Facebook, or browsing sites until you find some things that really speak to you. It’s a huge world out there, and the world wide web is even bigger. There is definitely going to be something out there that sparks your interest. You are always welcome to sign up as a subscriber here on eatlikearabbitrecipes for email updates on new posts or on my facebook page.

      Lucky for us, the internet and app stores are booming with new and fun ways to interact and share weight loss success stories and healthier living suggestions.

      Let me know what you come up with! Good Luck!
      Cheers! – Chef Mallory

Leave a Reply

