Itty Bitty Bacon Baked Potato

Itty Bitty Bacon Baked Potato

20121109-161557.jpg

Just one of many ways to dress your hot potato!

Ingredients: 1 Tsp. Bacon Bits, 1 Med. Potato, Salt & Pepper, 1/4 Cup Tomato Basil or Regular Crumbled Feta

Tools: Tin Foil & A Fork

Suggested Music to Listen to While Preparing: She & Him

Sometimes all I want in life is a baked potato. A warm little bundle I can dress up with whatever I have in the kitchen. This is another wonderful way to use up left-over foods or soon to be expired produce. Baked Potatoes are very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium. Extra points to the almighty baked potato for offering a decent amount of Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, Potassium and Manganese too!

Here is my recipe for a simple bacon & tomato basil feta baked potato…

Directions:

Step 1) Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

Step 2) Clean your baked potato. This produce comes from the dirt. Literally.

Step 3) Using your fork, poke 735 holes into the potato. Not so literally but still, you need a lot of holes so the potato can “breathe” while cooking.

Step 4) Completely wrap the potato in tin foil.

Step 5) Place into the oven to bake for 1 hour.

Step 6) Go read a book. Or whatever you need to do to kill an hour of your time. I should note that some people have been known to substitute wrapping the potato in tin foil for plastic wrap and will skip the hour in the oven by microwaving it for 6 or 7 minutes. This does work and you can do that instead but personally I find it to be somewhat sketch. I have tried the microwave method before and it just freaks me out. The idea of something being microwaved for that long creeps me out and I do not enjoy my food nearly as much as I do when it is baked in the oven. I’m not sure how it affects the nutritional value but to me it just simply isn’t the same.

Step 7) Pull the potato out of the oven and unwrap it from the tin foil. I recommend using an oven mit to grab and unwrap the potato. It will be hot!

Step 8) Take a knife and try to cut the potato down the center. If it is soft you can continue to Step 9. If it is still hard in the center pop it back into the oven for 10 minutes.

Step 9) Once fully cooked and soft, take 2 fingers and pull apart your potato at the slits. This also may be hot so be careful!

Step 10) Top it off with your chosen ingredients! I have sworn off butter for the baked potato since I usually top it with salsa or hot sauce anyways. The butter flavor tends to get masked so why bother with the fat content? I add a few dashes of salt & pepper every time and have chosen feta and bacon bits for this particular recipe.

This potato is perfect for me at lunch time but you can eat it whenever you like! Dress it up any way you want.

After all, PO-tay-to – Po-TA-toe! As long as it’s a hot potato you’re good to go!

Enjoy!

-Chef Mallory

Leave a Reply

