Classic Cuban

Classic Cuban

Munch on this for lunch!

Munch on this for lunch!

Calories: Aprox. 310 Calories

Music to Listen to While Preparing: The Band Perry

Tools: Skillet & Spatula

Ingredients:

  • 2 Slices of Low-Calorie Bread. (I tend to use Sara Lee’s breads at 35-40 calories a slice.)
  • 1/2 Slice American Cheese
  • Mustard
  • Deli Ham Slices
  • Pickles
  • Pam Spray

The Story:

When I was growing up I ate a TON of sandwiches. Cheap, quick & easy to make! One of my favorites were the ooey gooey grilled cheese sandwich. As an adult I cannot justify eating a sandwich that is essentially fat. I gotta have more. One day I happened upon something called “The Cuban.” Not the cigar….but the BEST sandwich a girl like me could ask for.

This sandwich had warm cheese, sweet mustard sauce, tart pickles, and my absolute favorite thing in the world. HAM.

Good lord I love ham. For me, it is a must have. So you can imagine the euphoria I was in when I stumbled across this epic meat and cheese combo. Per usual, now I had to determine how to make it a tad bit healthier ….. let’s be honest. I was hooked and without a substitute I would be doomed to the treadmill for life.

Directions:

Step 1) Coat a skillet with PAM Spray and set the heat on medium heat.

Step 2) Layer your sandwich as you wish. I prefer: Bread, Mustard, Cheese, Pickles, Ham, Mustard & Bread. I reeeeaallly like mustard though so I put it on both sides. 🙂

Step 3) Place in skillet and fry until 1 side is golden brown. Gently flip.

Step 4) Let other side fry until golden brown.

Step 5) Cut in half and check to see if the cuban sandwich is warm in the middle. If it is cold you can do 1 of 2 things.

1- You can add a skillet lid or plate to the top of the pan to catch the heat inside the pan. This causes the heat to swirl around and “bake” the sandwich a bit. Guaranteed cheesiness.

2- Carefully grab 1 sandwich half and hold the half directly onto the pan. Causing a “sear” to the inside meat, pickles & cheese.

Once you are satisfied, munch away! Just be careful of crumbs! Enjoy every last low-cal nibble.

-Chef Mallory

TELL ME! What is your favorite sandwich?

Follow Eat Like A Rabbit Recipes on faceboook! Find the link on the homepage or find us here: http://www.facebook.com/eatlikearabbitrecipes

Instagram it! #eatlikearabbitrecipes

Check out these other amazing twists on awesome sandwiches from fellow blog friends in the wordpress world…

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment